Projects

<CAC_LAB> is currently engaged in a long term research project which involves the development of a mixed reality, immersive and interactive platform that uses virtual and/or augmented reality, position and motion tracking, neuro-feedback (EEG – brainwaves) and wearable technologies, in order to enable new forms of artistic practices and narratives. This initiative is born from a mix of various of our main lines of research (emotive networks & haptic gaming, generative art & big data, intelligent audiovisual systems, existential technologies, it from bit) and has evolved its own sub-research areas. This year our fellowship aims to host an artist whose project inquires in one or more of the areas listed bellow:

A) Virtual / Augmented Reality: Within the scope of our research, we are interested in exploring alternative ways of engaging with the more conventional applications of VR and AR by rethinking our current understanding of digitalized visual representations of reality.

B) The Digital Brain: With the emergence of accessible and portable electroencephalographic technologies the possibility of having brain-computer-interfaces applications in the arts has become a major field of interest. Currently we are dedicated to the exploration of ways of classifying, interpreting and representing brain data through artistic practice.

C) Wearable Computing and Physical Interfaces: Interacting with digital layers of represented data is always a challenge for art installations and responsive environments. This particular line of research is concerned with the creation of wearable controllers and physical objects which enable interactions between humans and digital content.

D) Sensory Immersion: Representing digital data in non-visual ways is often a challenge. We are interested in exploring ways of translating digital content into experiences beyond the conventional audiovisual forms; experimental audio, haptic and olfactory feedback being a few examples of these.


Weight of Insomnia by LIU Xiaodong 2016

 

Accumulated Memory Landscapes by Fito_Segrera 2015

项目

< CAC_LAB >目前正在进行一个长期研究项目,涉及混合现实与沉浸式与互动式平台,项目使用的技术包括虚拟现实、增强现实、位置与动作捕捉、神经反馈(EEG-脑波)以及可穿戴技术,并将藉此发展新的艺术实践与叙事方式。这个项目融合了我们所设定的多个研究方向(情感网络&体感游戏、生成性艺术与大数据、智能视听系统、存在主义技术、万物源于比特)并发展出自己的细分研究。申请学术奖金的艺术家/研究者所投送的计划书应该至少属于下列领域之一:

A)虚拟现实/增强现实:通过反思我们当下对现实数字化的视觉再现,我们希望能够发掘介入VR和AR技术应用的替代性方式。

B)数字大脑:随着脑电波技术的发展,脑机交互界面在艺术中的应用可能性变成了一个非常重要的兴趣点。目前,我们正致力于发展通过艺术实践分类、解读和再现大脑数据的方式。

C)可穿戴计算设备与物理界面:与数据为代表的数字信息进行互动一直是艺术装置和反应性环境的一大挑战。这一研究方向希望能够创造出能够是人们与数字内容进行互动的可穿戴控制器和物理物件。

D)感官沉浸:用非视觉的方式再现数字信号一直是一个挑战。我们希望能发掘将数字内容转译为经验的方式,这一方式将超越传统的视听形式;实验性声音、体感与嗅觉反馈是这一方向上可能的案例。

 


 

《失眠之重》,刘小东,2016

 

《迭加记忆之景》,菲托·萨格雷拉,2015